The Purge


I don’t know where this is going, but I feel that it will end with the purging of my mental processes.  First, let me start by saying that I am writing this with only 4-5 hours of sleep.  For some reason, maybe because I am a bit nervous about going to the Federal Building today to see about getting signed up for a pension from the VA.  I am finally getting off of my backside in order to see if this will be possible.  I am running low on the inheritance from my father, due in large part to getting The Corporate Whore of Babylon published.  As some of you may know, I have finished a second book, All of Our Fears, but I don’t have enough money to get it published.  This is why I could really use a literary agent right about now.

Secondly, although these thoughts were not totally occupying my mind while sleep eluded me, my main fears about becoming broke and homeless threaded their way through my mind.  I did have a taste of homelessness back in 2003 and I did not enjoy it, but then, who does?  My “homelessness” was somewhat eased by the fact that through the VA, I was able to get a cubicle at a shelter.  This shelter, however, was only good for three months at which time they expected you to have a job and save enough money in order to at least get Section 8 housing.  I, however, was given help by a VA counselor in getting a room at a housing center for vets.  This place came with rooms which came in one, two, or more beds.  It also had a computer center that was to be used, mainly, for finding a job.  Fortunately, at this time, I already had a job as a security guard at a condominium complex in Playa del Rey.  This lasted until a cabal of penny-pinching unit owners took over the Board and decided that the complex no longer needed security guards.

Finally, I am going to finish this “rant” by saying that I am grateful for those who have read my book and stopped by to read my blog.  I hope that in the very near future that I will be able to have a larger following and that my humble scribblings will find a place in your hearts and minds.  Thank you all for your loyalty!

Leave a Reply

