From “The Corporate Whore of Babylon”


He woke up and found himself in a small dirt cell. It looked like it had been a hole dug into the side of a wall with metal bars in front of it. His hands were still tied behind his back and he had been put into the cell on his back. With his weight on his hands, he felt the blood being cut off and a numbness creeping into his hands. At least his mouth had not been taped up again, so he could get air into his lungs. While he was trying to find a better and more comfortable position, he heard a voice. It wasn’t very loud, but he could understand what was being said. “Hello, are you awake?” “Yes, yes I am. Who are you?” “My name is Dale Evering. Who are you?” Alex was a bit reluctant to answer that question at first, but changed his mind after thinking about it. “I’m Alex Dali. Where is this place?” “The best that I can tell you is that we’re in some sort of prison inside of Summer’s Place.” “Why are you here?” “I was deer hunting about a month ago in the woods when I saw a tall wall with a guard tower on it. I was about to sneak away, because I had heard stories from the locals about this place, when someone shot me with a dart gun and the next thing I knew, I woke up and found myself in this cramped cell.”

“Were you interrogated?”

“Not until the next day. I told them that I was just tracking down a deer that I had shot earlier. Unfortunately, the deer led me to that area.” “Will we be allowed bathroom breaks or receive any meals?” “Oh, they’ll feed you. As for bathroom privileges, well that’s a bit unpredictable.” “Great. I guess…” At that moment, a key was inserted into a large wooden door. As the door was opened, the sound of boots tromping on the floor were heard. At the bars to his cell, Alex saw the front of the boots and then a pair of hands reached down and undid the lock to his cell. Without a word being said, the boots walked away and the sound of another opened lock was heard. “The prisoners are to be transferred. The prisoners will not ask any questions. The prisoners will not show resistance.” After these “rules” had been announced, Alex and Dale were dragged out of their holes. In front of Alex stood a person wearing a jackal mask. There were two armed men also in the room who were wearing the same masks. The man who had apparently called out the rules did a stiff military turn around while the other two guards nudged Alex and Dale forward. The group walked down a hallway for about 50 feet and then turned left into another room. Inside this room were three cells. The cells were only large enough to fit a slab set into the wall as a bed and a commode. There were no windows and the only form of artificial light in the room was a 120 watt naked light bulb hanging from the ceiling. The only other thing in the room that was not in the cells were three CCTV cameras pointed at each cell. The head guard unlocked the door of the first cell and indicated to the guards that Dale was to be put into it. He then unlocked the second cell and Alex was thrown into that one. Once both prisoners had been secured, the guards left the room, closed and locked the door and left the two men to themselves, wondering what would be next on these people’s weird agenda. “Well, it’s nice to know that we’ve been upgraded to first class accommodations.” Alex said. “No, first class accommodations would be me at home with my wife and kids.” Dale replied. “Considering that to these people that’s not going to be an option, I’d say that this is the best that we can expect.” “Yeah, I suppose that you’re right. What do you think they’re going to do with us?” “I’m afraid that it’s a bit early to tell, but you can be sure that it won’t be pleasant.”

Leave a Reply

