My Pitchfest Video


One of the things that people were offered when they signed up for Pitchfest 2013 was a personal video which was to help promote their book.  Apparently when I agreed to go to Pitchfest, I was not aware that I had signed onto this option until I arrived at Registration and received my booklet.  When I got to my room, I scanned through the booklet and discovered that I was scheduled for a video at 2:00 PM the following day.  I really didn’t think much about it until after it took place.

The videographer was nice enough and I felt fairly comfortable while answering his prepared questions, which I had been told about before arriving at the hotel.  The only things that I felt ridiculous about, which I hadn’t really expected, was the “extra shots”.  These consisted of posing on a couch, going outside looking “thoughtful”, walking down a path and smelling a rose.  The last one was, I thought, the silliest.  After the shoot was finished, I had some free time until it would be time to do my pitch.  I have to admit that I felt more relaxed with the video section then the actual pitch (for the results of my pitch, see my blog Pitchfest 2013 Pt. 1 & 2).

I did speak to some of the other attendees about the video portion of this event, and found out a couple of surprises.  One author complained that during her video, there was no makeup person provided (she was told that she had to provide her own),  The other was that, apparently, different publishing houses charged different prices for this service.  I, for one, do not even remember being given this option.  Finally, if you would like to see the finished product, go to http://youtu.be/dzdQoYSaMYQ.  So far, the only thing that I can say is that I should get to a gym, but…Anyway, if you do view the video,I would appreciate any comments, but, please, be gentle!

Leave a Reply

